Skip to content

Don’t doddle, just swaddle!

February 28, 2012

written on 01/15/2012
the first few days of our baby boy’s birth, DH continued to ask me: “why is he moving his hands and feet so much? Can’t we make him stop?” You see, in his culture, they swaddle lots. They don’t let a baby just spastically move their hands and feet. They feel that it makes him uncomfortable…. … and, for this baby, they are (hesitation) right. And, I understood the benefit for calming, but, did not want to keep him swaddled all day. After all, we were restricting his movements … … and … … wouldn’t that contribute to him being a bit delayed in gross motor skills???? Besides, when he is swaddled, it is harder to hold him in one arm or on my shoulder. A friend described him as a “Glow worm,” and that is so correct. He is wrapped tight but his big head (Now, Ganja Head [Bald]) is sticking out of the blanket and moving from side to side. Yes, “My little Glow worm.” (smile) I tried to get a picture with my iphone (Hey DH is good at taking pics with it and he is totally blind), but it just did not work. [sorry].

Let me describe the swaddle blanket for those who are unfamiliar. When people swaddle without the new blanket, they turn the square blanket so it looks like a diamond. the first task is to make sure that the feet are tucked in tight by folding the bottom corner upwards. then, the other two (east and west) corners get folded into the blanket. but, the swaddle blanket makes it much easier to swaddle. when the swaddle blanket is laid out strait, it kind of looks strange. there is a pocket at the bottom. There is velcro at the top of the pocket. the left and right sides extend outwards with their own pieces of velcro. First, you tuck the feet into the pocket and pull the pocket towards the chest. After straightening your baby’s right arm down to his side, you pull the left side of the blanket over to the right side, attaching it to the velcro on the feet pocket. Then, you straighten his left arm and pull the right side of the blanket to the left side. = the pieces of velcro attached to the right side of the blanket attach to the blanket itself. there is no other piece of velcro for it to attahc to. but, the blanket seems to hold the child tightly and stays in place much more firmly than the old blankets. Ok, I hope that I have not totally confused you.
Anyway, back on topic, I didn’t swaddle much with my others because… … well, it was hard to get the blanket tight enough and they would always kick their wayy out of it. But, now, as a shower gift, some wonderful woman gave me three of these swaddle blankets with velcro. OK, I still can’t get DH to learn to use them, although he can give a twenty minute lecture on why they are useful and how I should “swaddle liberally!” But, these blankets make it so much easier to swaddle and I must admit that my wonderful baby is less fussy and more content. and, when he is ready to play, he still cries and can eventually get his arms out of the swaddle. It takes him some time, but it is doable. I do take him out of the swaddle to have tummy time, look in the mirror, make attempts at playing with his toys, etc. But, when he is sleeping or when he needs to calm down, the swaddle gets the silver medal. the gold goes to my shoulder. He likes to rest his chest on my shoulder, with his head above my shoulder so he can see what is going on. I don’t know why someone has not invented a carrier for this exact position.
I’ll talk about carriers in a later post.
Now that three months have passed, we swaddle less. But, Azaan is less fussy, also. However, as far as shower gifts go, the swaddle blankets get a thumbs-up. In those early days, they can also help the baby get comfortable in the sling and allows you to get work done.
Soon I’ll write a post for “must haves,” (gifts to get your expecting friend for her baby shower). These will be on it.
Hmmm, it has occured to me that I could probably make some extra money if I blogged to review products. but, I am already behind the curve, so don’t want to commit to something that I can’t follow through with.

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. we LOVED swaddles, esp. the velcro ones. We swore by them and to this day believe that they were a big reason as to why our son slept so well starting at 2 1/2 months. We swaddles until Kyle was 6 months. People may call us crazy, but I swear by it. 🙂 It’s my go-to shower gift as well. Good-luck

    • jamily5 permalink

      Hi Maya, thanks for checking out the blog! Azaan is 3mos and he is getting kind of big for the swaddlers, but even if his arms don’t fit in, he likes it for his legs. We are still doing it as much as possible. Good to see you here.

Leave a Reply

